The age for getting married is 18 without parental consent and 16 with parental consent. Parent must appear with their identification with 16 or 17 year old applicants. Custodial Parents must appear and bring proof of custody.
NOTE: THE REQUIREMENT FOR PREMARITAL COUNSELING FOR INDIVIDUALS APPLYING FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE HAS BEEN ELIMINATED. Applicants will be provided with written educational material by the Wayne County Clerk regarding prenatal care and the transmission and prevention of HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases.
It is necessary to obtain a marriage license from the County Clerk of the county in which either applicant resides. If both parties are non-residents of Michigan, the applicants must apply in the county in which the marriage is to be performed. At least one of the parties must appear in person to apply.
You must pay in cash or credit card when you apply. The fee is $23.00 if one or both is a Wayne County Resident or $33.00 if both parties are out of state residents. We do not accept personal checks.
There is a three-day waiting period* after the application before the license may be issued and used. A marriage license is void unless the Marriage is solemnized within 33 days from the date of application.
DO NOT APPLY MORE THAN 33 DAYS NOR LESS THAN 3 WORKING DAYS FROM YOUR WEDDING DATE. The License is valid only in the State of Michigan.
*YOU MAY APPLY FOR A WAIVER OF THE THREE DAY WAITING PERIOD FOR A FEE OF $5.00HOWEVER, YOU MUST APPLY AT THE DOWNTOWN DETROIT OFFICE TO RECEIVE YOUR LICENSE AT THE SAME TIME YOU APPLY, THE SATELLITE OFFICES WOULD MAKE THEM AVAILABLE THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY FOR THAT OFFICE AFTER 12 NOON.
Copies of Marriage Licenses may be obtained online, in person, or by writing to the County One certified copy of a marriage license if $22.00 and $7.00 for each additional copy purchased at the same time. Marriage License search for an uncertified copy is $11.50 for years 1937 to present, before 1937- $11.50 for each 3 year interval. Personal Checks are not accepted. Click here for the Marriage Certificate Order form.
Every person must present a valid drivers license or valid State Identification as proof of residency.
Every person must present a CERTIFIED COPY [with seal] of their birth certificate registration with parental information. Hospital certificates and baptismal certificates will not be accepted.
NOTE: ALL FOREIGN BIRTH CERTIFICATES MUST BE TRANSLATED INTO ENGLISH BY A CERTIFIED TRANSLATOR. A NOTARY OTHER THAN THE TRANSLATOR MUST NOTARIZE THE TRANSLATOR'S SIGNATURE.
If you do not have a certified birth certificate, the following documentation will be accepted:
U.S. Born (All Documents MUST be originals)
FOREIGN BORN (All Documents MUST be originals)
MINORS MUST HAVE DOCUMENTATION THAT INCLUDES PARENTS NAMES.
* I try my best to keep this page as current as possible but, laws are ever changing please check with your county clerk for you most up to date information! Also, once your ceremony has been completed I do mail in all documentation to your county clerk. From there it is your responsiblity to pick up the cerified copies from the appropriate offices & paying any necessary fees.